Labour!

READ: 2 Corinthians 6:1-10

“…his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all…” – 1 Corinthians 15:10

It is time to spend and to be spent for the Lord. Allow yourself to be spent for Jesus. This was David Livingstone’s philosophy. He allowed himself to be spent so that unsaved tribes and peoples could be discovered and evangelized. I quote from an interview that he had.

“…China was his choice; but the Opium War had closed the door; his heart was turned to Africa, and to that continent he sailed, and landed at Cape Town in 1849…He gave as his reason: ‘When first I felt the expansive benevolence of the Gospel in my heart, it became an interesting question to me; how can I spend the remainder of my days in bringing my fellow men to the enjoyment of the same happiness and peace? How can I spend my years?” SPEND AND BE SPENT the missionary ideal was constant in all his years. Preaching and teaching, Livingstone was also a physician to the sick. He had a genius for friendship with these Africans. ‘Love begets love’ was his motto. His hands were never idle: bricklayer, carpenter, stones man and general director of the social economy of his settlements he passed his days in intense action.” (Excerpt from Classic Books for Today No. 196, An Hour Series: An Hour with David Livingstone by Walter McCleary.)

God gave His Son and today He has millions of sons. If God has called you to plant a church, don’t be afraid to die to yourself, to your desires and ambitions. Unless you die, you will never bear much fruit.

One thought on “Labour!

Leave a Reply

